exposure.

this little one amazes me. i watched her in class today and she blew me away. just listen to the feeling behind her playing. no, i cannot do that. it is a very difficult song, but to be able to play, from memory, and with emotion is crazy. then to top it off she is like 7.

in my class we talked about the importance of exposure. that child did not come out of the womb ready to play chopin. someone showed her chopin, taught her about him, let her listen to him, gave her instruction, and nurtured her love of music. what a difference it would make if we all simply exposed people to what we want them to learn. every child has the opportunity to know success, it takes exposure, nurture, and patience. similarly, i believe every person has the opportunity to know love. just as piano and reading and writing take time to understand, so does love. when i teach i hope to expose my students to love, but also to fill them up with as much knowledge and passion as possible. my professors here at school have shown me what it is to be passionate about teaching and it’s starting to rub off. i appreciate that and i am itching to try it out. at the same time, i know i need experience and more teaching to become a better teacher.

just thought i’d share a piece of my day and my thoughts with you. if nothing else, i hope you enjoy little hannah playing chopin.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “exposure.

  1. noochymama

    you’ll be (and are already) such a great teacher. and besides that, you’ll be a great mom. i always have thought that so much of my job as a mom was influenced by my job as a teacher; particularly the things you wrote about here. good post.

  2. lindsayweed

    this was enjoyable 🙂 thanks, dear.

Leave a comment